Breastfeeding in public

Sunday, April 2, 2006 1:01 pm at 1:01 pm 1 comment

I always like the baby changing room in Ikano Power Centre because it is cosy and comfortable. As there are baby changing facilities on each floor of the centre, it is easy to find one that is not used. One complaint that I have with the rooms is that there is no way for me to turn down the volume of the PA system and the default volume is way too loud for a sleeping baby. I always thought the room was meant for public use till my dreadful encounter below.

During one of my visits to the Ikano baby change rooms, I was surprised to find the door locked. So, being polite, I knocked on the door. No one replied. Then I told my hubby that some of the shoppers who bought clothes from the kiosks nearby would use the room as a changing room. So we waited.

After a while, we heard a baby crying. Then a woman opened the door, wedged herself into the gap, and looked at us as if we were bothering her. She said, “I’m breastfeeding”. My initial response was, “Sorry”. Then we walked off.

We walked to the 1st Floor baby changing room. My hubby asked why I said sorry. We did nothing wrong. I was thinking, “Ya hor”.

Come to think of it, I am also a mommy who breastfeeds my boy in public. I close, but never lock, the door of any changing room in a shopping complex. Sometimes I am glad that other mums ‘teman’ me in the same room to nurse our babies. I think she should have been more considerate and at the very least, ask why I wanted to use the changing room. For all you know, it could be for an urgent matter.

Perhaps she is a new mommy, but I am also a new mommy too.

Entry filed under: babykhong, Mummy's Place.

To pick him up or otherwise? Spring cot a.k.a ‘Sarong’

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mumsgather  |  Wednesday, April 5, 2006 4:26 pm at 4:26 pm

    This is not as bad as some young girls I encountered trying out stockings in a breastfeeding room meant for breastfeeding mums!

    Reply
  • 2. khongfamily  |  Wednesday, April 5, 2006 4:33 pm at 4:33 pm

    mumsgather
    Yalor…shame shame to them..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

