Spring cot a.k.a ‘Sarong’

Monday, April 3, 2006 4:18 pm at 4:18 pm 3 comments

I always have difficulty putting Brae to sleep for his naps (normally twice a day). He always cries his lungs out when I put him flat on his back.

I normally put him on his tummy for his napping. If he is sleepy, he won’t cry but he will struggle on the bed as he falls asleep. Otherwise, he will just cry the instant I put him in the cot. I have tried giving him a bolster and pat him to sleep on his side but to no avail.

Once I brought Brae along to visit my cousin. There was a ‘sarong’ there meant for my nephew. My cousin asked me to try it out since Brae was crying his lungs out when I put him on the bed to sleep. I found that he liked to sleep in the ‘sarong’, stayed quietly inside with a bolster and slept longer.

Now, I’m thinking of getting one for backup purposes (when Brae ‘lau kai’ a lot). My hubby is afraid that Brae will be too used to the ‘sarong’ and we will have difficulty later to have him sleep in his cot. My intention is to prevent him from struggling so much before he sleeps.

To buy or not to buy? Hopefully, by the time we really decide to buy one, Brae will learn to sleep by himself…calmly.

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong.

Breastfeeding in public No internet line to blog

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaine Lee  |  Thursday, April 20, 2006 3:56 pm at 3:56 pm

    Hi Khong

    This is my first time visiting your blog.
    About spring cot, for my opinion, I would strongly object it. I have not consider once to use it even with my MIL pestering me and telling me how easy it would be to take care of the kids with one. If you happen to know nurses from any hospital (especially GH), they will tell you that most accident happen in young children because of springcot. The chance of falling of are quite high, and I have read in newspaper that kids got stranggled to death by the spring cot too.

    Reply
  • 2. khongfamily  |  Thursday, April 20, 2006 5:59 pm at 5:59 pm

    Elaine
    You’re right. I have decided not to buy the spring cot already. Trying to train my baby to sleep on his own on the bed. Thanks for telling me.

    Reply
  • 3. shelly  |  Tuesday, January 23, 2007 4:50 am at 4:50 am

    i love those curtains!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,633 hits

