Breastfeeding obstacles

Thursday, April 13, 2006 7:29 pm at 7:29 pm 2 comments

While I was pregnant, I had already decided to breastfeed my baby even though I have heard a lot of negative comments about breastfeeding from my family members. None of my family members breasfed their children. Therefore, I was a bit skeptical and discouraged by the remarks made by them. Here are some of the comments that I have heard:-

1) You got milk meh? (assuming that small breasts will not produce much milk)

2) Breastmilk alone not enough wan…

3) Just breastfeed for the first month larr, just get the colostrum enough lorr…

4) Your breasts will sag worrr….

5) What for you susah-susah yourself? Just give them formula milk larr…

6) Baby is not full larr… (when they see the baby crying after nursing)

In order to equip myself to breastfeed my baby, I searched through the internet for more information and went to bookshops to read more about breastfeeding. I read the breastfeeding book by Johnson & Johnson over and over again to get myself prepared. I also downloaded breastfeeding videos to learn about latching on and different positions for breastfeeding.

When Brae was born, I immediately put him to my breast. I had the nurse to help me on latching Brae correctly. I suffered the pain from breast engorgement, sore nipples and milk-blocked ducts. The breastfeeding journey for the first month was dreadful when I had to nurse Brae every half an hour, with his weight dropping , and to top it off, he was slightly jaundiced. My concern over Brae’s weight prompted me to top up breastmilk with formula milk which eventually led to him depending fully on formula milk. Then we noticed that Brae suffered constipation from taking in too much formula milk. From that moment, with the advice from the midwife, I slowly decreased the formula milk to fully breastfeeding by the time Brae was 2 months old.

I admitted there were some times I would feel so frustrated especially when Brae encountered difficulty in sucking the milk out from my breasts because of the slow milk flow. If not because of the support from my hubby and our midwife, I wouldn’t be able to breastfeed our baby till now. As for my family’s comments, I just shrugged them off and continue to do what I think is best for my baby.

Keywords to successful breastfeeding : perseverance, determination, patience, and passion.

Entry filed under: babykhong, Mummy's Place.

First taste of semi solid food…yummy! Things that Daddy does for Mummy and baby…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesslyn  |  Friday, April 14, 2006 5:15 pm at 5:15 pm

    Keep up your good work! Breast milk surely is much much better than formula! Too bad, I only bf my girl for 1-2 mth!

    Reply
  • 2. Elaine Lee  |  Thursday, April 20, 2006 4:04 pm at 4:04 pm

    Keep up with your good work. You have done a good job for your firstborn. My girl wasn’t that lucky and I didn’t learn the art of breastfeeding until my second baby

    Reply
  • 3. khongfamily  |  Thursday, April 20, 2006 5:55 pm at 5:55 pm

    jesslyn
    Hi, jesslyn. Thanks for reading my blog. Breastfeed for 2 months is still better than none! 🙂

    elaine lee
    Hi, Elaine. I like to read your blog. Thanks for dropping by….:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

