Nursery rhymes

Thursday, April 20, 2006 7:08 pm at 7:08 pm 3 comments

Nursery rhymes are meant for kids but it turns out that mummy has to learn them first before she can sign them to the baby. When I first started singing to Brae, the only song that I recalled from my younger days was ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’. I kept repeating the song over and over again. I’m not sure whether Brae was getting bored with the song but I sure was!

Therefore, I decided to brush up my nursery rhymes but I either found CDs with no lyrics included or nursery rhyme books without the tunes. I always have the problem of never locating the things I want. Perhaps I am not the observant type. My hubby went to search and he found a CD with a nice lyric board book board by ‘Ladybird’ at the ‘Tape Video’ section. It’s so embarrassing because I went to look for it a few times but I never thought of rummaging around that section. In the end, we ended up buying the locally produced nursery rhymes book with VCD (my hubby found this at the ‘Poetry’ section) at RM10 each for 10 songs compared to the ‘Ladybird’ which cost RM32.

So now, I play the VCD daily for the baby to listen and for mummy to learn to sing the songs.

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong.

Inculcate the reading habit A trip to Singapore – Part I

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaine Lee  |  Friday, April 21, 2006 10:13 am at 10:13 am

    I also got the VCD for RM10. Value buy compare to branded Mothergoose or Ladybirds.
    When I was working in office last time, I spent a lot of time surfing for nursery rhymes and printed out compiled it into my own collection. (Of course got no sound effect)
    You can visit http://www.mothergoose.com for more lyrics or you can go http://members.tripod.com/nursery_school/
    with lyrics, animation and music.

    Reply
  • 2. Jesslyn  |  Friday, April 21, 2006 12:41 pm at 12:41 pm

    Now i very expert in singing nursery song lor! Sing along with my girls most of the time!

    Reply
  • 3. Loc Kee  |  Thursday, April 27, 2006 4:59 pm at 4:59 pm

    I think todller wont get bored when listen to this rhymes or songs. Coz my Sweet sweet will ask us to put in her Tape (cassette) whenever we go in the car. and at home, when we turn on her Music Video, she also watch it again and again…

    and at the end, We learnt all the songs haha…

    Reply
  • 4. khongfamily  |  Friday, April 28, 2006 3:20 pm at 3:20 pm

    elaine
    Hahaa..now it’s my turn printing out the lyrics for my collection. And thanks for the links. It helps.

    jesslyn
    I hope Brae will sing along with me next time! 🙂

    loc kee
    Now I always play the nursery rhymes CD in the car when we go out…actually mainly Mummy is the one who listens and sings the songs! Heehee..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

