A trip to Singapore – Part I

Friday, April 21, 2006 6:22 pm at 6:22 pm 2 comments

My husband once mentioned that we must bring our kids (currently only 1 kid) on holidays whenever possible, if overseas even better. Cameron Highlands was the furthest place that we have been to this year and this was during Chinese New Year 2006. Brae wasn’t bothered by the cold weather and he loved looking around. My uncle, who lives in Cameron Highlands, was surprised that we brought our 2 month-old baby along.

However, it freaked me out when hubby asked me to follow him (bringing Brae along, of course) to Singapore next week for a business trip for three days. One half of me said “Go” but the other half said “Don’t go”. After much thought, I decided to go since hubby was scared that I couldn’t cope alone with Brae in the house.

Things that Mummy worries about:-

  • Bus. All this while, we travel by car so I’m not so worried because Brae has his own car seat. Furthermore, it is convenient for me to nurse Brae in the car with a comfortabe bolster supporting my arm. Brae can have his toys to play with when he is cranky. But this time, we are hopping onto the Aeroline bus to Singapore. Definitely no car seat, Brae will have to be carried on the lap for a long 4-5 hour trip. Definitely tiring! Then there’s the extra luggage which includes the bolster and toys.
  • Food. Brae has just started on semi-solids. I feel hesitant in changing to baby jar food after having fed Brae freshly-made food at home. I’m thinking of bringing ‘Babypappa’ along but that’s another add-on baggage to worry about.
  • Hotel. Worried that the hotel room’s air-conditioning would be too cold for Brae. I will need to buy a sweater for him, just in case. I’m scared that Brae is not used to sleeping on the hotel bed.
  • Sight-seeing. I will have to use a sling (for mummy) and a carrier (for daddy) to carry our boy.
  • Nursing. I’m worried that, being unfamiliar with the shopping malls there, I won’t be able to locate breastfeeding areas quickly.

“Go” reasons:-

  • Baby stuff. Heard that the baby stuff in Singapore is cheaper. Hope to get more nursing wear and more stuff for baby there.
  • Loneliness. I don’t think that I can stay alone with baby in the house as I am not used to sleeping alone.
  • Food. I may end up not eating proper meals because I rely on my hubby to “ta pau” food for me.

Entry filed under: babykhong, Places.

Nursery rhymes Fun ‘n Go Tag

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaine Lee  |  Sunday, April 23, 2006 5:29 pm at 5:29 pm

    Take the opportunity and go with your hubby. Going out alone in S’pore is much easier than in M’sia, they have better public transport system. If you have a sling, then discreet breastfeeding should be not an issue, as for me I basically nurse anywhere, don’t even bothered about nursing room. Jar food or those powder type (to be mixed with water or milk) should be alrite for just 3 days.

    Reply
  • 2. gasoon  |  Thursday, April 27, 2006 4:35 pm at 4:35 pm

    Hey me first time come to your site… you started writing not long ago hoh?

    Hey go la, take a break in other country. gain the experience of taking care of Brea away from home. I think all the cons can be settled easilly :>

    Reply
  • 3. khongfamily  |  Friday, April 28, 2006 2:58 pm at 2:58 pm

    Elaine
    Hey…I’m back. You are right. The public transport in Singapore is superb. I went shopping alone with Brae while hubby went to the food fair. No problems at all. Luckily I bought EzyLink card to be used for MRT and bus. So convenient.

    gasoon
    Thanks for reading my blog. Yeah…just started writing not long ago. And I am back in Malaysia. I feel glad that I went to Singapore. It was so fun for three of us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

