My new hobby

Thursday, May 11, 2006 4:18 pm at 4:18 pm 8 comments

Well, my new hobby…SCRAPBOOKING. I always wanted to create a baby scrapbook for my little boy showing all the photos of his milestones. Inspiration came when I saw the nice and colourful page of a baby scrap book shown in a shop in The Curve. We were there to buy a scrapbook kit as a wedding gift for the bride of hubby’s cousin. Unfortunately, they didn’t have the wedding scrapbook kit so we settled for the baby scrapbook kit for them instead.

The second time we went, I saw a new baby scrapbook kit on the shelf. The kit came with a few pieces of patterned papers and stickers. Hubby knew I liked scrapbooking because whenever we visit bookshops, I always search for scrapbooking magazines instead of my usual pregnancy, motherhood and women magazines to read.

Coincidentally, the owner of the shop is also our wedding card designer. We took the opportunity to have a chat with her as well. Some of the advice she gave me:-

  • As a beginner, start off with a scrapbook kit.
  • Get ideas on the design and layout from magazines.

At the end, I bought a baby scrapbook kit, mounting squares for photos, and a trimmer. Come to think of it, it’s good to spend the time doing something useful at home when Brae is sleeping. Normally, I glue myself to the idiot box whenever I’m free…hehehe.


So, after a few days of sorting, cropping, adding effects to the photos and figuring out the layout, this is the result of my first page – newborn scrapbook:-

Tadaaaa…..

Entry filed under: babykhong, Scrapbook.

Sleeping routine Mr. Osteo

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hui Sia  |  Thursday, May 11, 2006 10:03 pm at 10:03 pm

    Oh,such a great job to do..
    I think i’m a bit outdated, hehehe…never thought of scrapbook!

    Where is the shop located in The Curve? How much is it?

    Think of doing it..

    Reply
  • 2. khongfamily  |  Monday, May 15, 2006 4:42 pm at 4:42 pm

    hui sia
    The shop is called Papier located on 1st floor of The Curve. But one thing, the things there quite pricey though.

    If you are doing it, we can share the scrapbooking experience together…:P

    Reply
  • 3. Allyfeel  |  Tuesday, May 16, 2006 3:48 pm at 3:48 pm

    Eh, I saw that scrapbooking shop in the curve too but I didn’t go in, just looked outside. There are many nice and gorgeous photos outside for display. I was so tempted to go in.

    How is the pricing for those album? How pricey??

    Reply
  • 4. khongfamily  |  Tuesday, May 16, 2006 6:13 pm at 6:13 pm

    allyfeel
    The first few times, I didn’t dare to walk in as well even though I was so tempted to go in. Just try to walk in and have a look. They are not pushy at all.

    The scrapbook kit I bought cost RM200+.

    Reply
  • 5. Allyfeel  |  Friday, May 26, 2006 11:06 am at 11:06 am

    WOW!..That is pricey but I believe it’s worth it for safekeeping Brae’s wonderful development.

    In that case, I think digital scrapbooking is much afordable.

    Reply
  • 6. khongfamily  |  Friday, May 26, 2006 4:19 pm at 4:19 pm

    allyfeel
    Yaa..you are right. Digital scrapbooking is much better, of course. Most importantly…more cost effective! I only knew about digital scrapbooking after I started to read in the magazine! *sigh*

    Reply
  • 7. jazzmint  |  Monday, May 29, 2006 12:46 pm at 12:46 pm

    cool hobby..I’ve also started digital scrapbooking lately, when I have the mood to do it hehe…

    Whoa the scrapkit is not cheap huh…but that shop sure looks yummy to me. Went in there once to survey

    Reply
  • 8. Satellite Guy  |  Thursday, August 2, 2007 7:28 am at 7:28 am

    Love reading your blog. Great info!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,633 hits

