Down with fever

Friday, June 2, 2006 5:40 pm at 5:40 pm 5 comments

Brae had a slight fever last weekend which started after his Kindermusik trial class last Saturday. The fever would come and go.

On Tuesday, I had the feeling that something was not quite right with Brae when he started to cry and ‘teh pau’ (‘manja’) the whole day. While preparing his food, he wouldn’t sit still in his highchair and whined until I finished preparing his food. The funny thing was he did not lose his appetite at all.

After his nap, I noticed that Brae’s head was a bit hot when I nursed him. Feeling worried, I took his temperature. To my surprise, the reading was 38.6 Celsius. I quickly rang my hubby in the office and told him to come back to bring Brae to see the doctor. I tried to call Brae’s paed in SJMC but they were already closed. Therefore, I called our midwife to recommend paeds around the Subang area. She recommended us to a clinic in USJ 9.

While waiting for my hubby, I switched on the air-conditioner and patted a wet cloth all over Brae’s head and body to reduce the heat. Then I measured his temperature again. It was 37.9 Celcius.

By the time we reached Klinik Pakar Kanak-Kanak Little Ones, it was already 7 pm. Dr. Ling told us that most of the children there were down with fever today. He checked Brae thoroughly, fearing that Brae might have other illnesses beside fever. In the end, he concluded that Brae was down with a mild fever caused by a viral infection since Brae didn’t show any sign of lethargy (Brae was quite active at that time, playing with the rattle given by the doctor).

We decided to see this doctor, in addition to our usual paed in SJMC. We find Dr. Ling very thorough in his diagnosis before making a conclusion.

It was so difficult to feed Brae his medicine. Brae HATED the medicine. When we fed him using the spoon, he would spit it out or closed his mouth shut! I thought I was clever enough to pour half of the medicine in his milk, how wrong I was. He rather forego the milk! Adoiii!!!

The next day, his fever was gone but he caught a flu. He had a running nose and kept on coughing. Aiyaa…he just recovered from the fever, and now flu. Therefore, we went to the clinic again and got medicine for flu and cough. Now, two more medicines to feed Brae, how to coax him to drink lehh? I let hubby do it, he is very good at it.

At this point of time, Brae is recovering very well. He is his usual self again, playing alone happily without making a fuss. Hooray…the ‘sickness’ is finally over.

This is the first time Brae falls sick. So ‘ke lian’.

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong.

Hand & Feet Inspiration I wish I have more free time…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesslyn  |  Friday, June 2, 2006 10:46 pm at 10:46 pm

    first time encounter this har, u must be worry sick! poor boy, lucky he is ok now!

    Reply
  • 2. IMMomsDaughter  |  Monday, June 5, 2006 10:36 am at 10:36 am

    Should not say this but so you are very fortunate that this is the first time Brae falls sick. My boy was sick very frequently when he was younger & every time he falls sick, always feed this medicine, that medicine. Now, learn through experience, when my girl has flu, let her be lah if its not too bad. Only see running nose all the time lor…ha ha…but eventually her antibody goes to work.

    Good to hear Brae is better now.

    Reply
  • 3. Allyfeel  |  Monday, June 5, 2006 1:57 pm at 1:57 pm

    Glad to hear that Brae is feeling better already. Daddy seems to be expert at taking care of Brae yea?

    Feeding medicine is my greatest nightmare too especially now. *shake head*

    Reply
  • 4. mom2ashley  |  Tuesday, June 6, 2006 1:38 pm at 1:38 pm

    hope brae recovers fast! poor thing

    Reply
  • 5. Zara's Mama  |  Wednesday, June 7, 2006 3:59 pm at 3:59 pm

    Good that he’s recovered..

    Kids fall sick, the mummies normally are the ones that will get worried sick.

    Reply
  • 6. khongfamily  |  Friday, June 9, 2006 5:50 pm at 5:50 pm

    jesslyn
    Yeah..I was worried sick liao but my hubby was cool.

    immomsdaughter
    Hahha..learnt through experience hah. I think the next time Brae falls sick, I won’t be so worried anymore!

    allyfeel
    Yalor..me too. I hate feeding Brae medicine. He always give me the ‘ke lian’ look when I feed him medicine.

    mom2ashley
    Thanks. He is recovering very well.

    zara’s mama
    Daddy seems ‘cool’er than mummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

