From daddy’s desk – Now the real headache starts

Wednesday, August 23, 2006 4:58 pm at 4:58 pm 11 comments

The past week has been very hectic for a myriad of reasons. Got back from Lahad Datu on Thursday night and was back to work on Friday. Had to deal with paperwork brought back from my trip AND my in-tray on my office desk. At this point in time, still grappling with these two things.

Most unfortunately, I also discovered that Zaramama is not only a prolific blogger but possibly the nation’s No. 1 blog visitor. I clicked on 5xMom, thoroughly enjoyed myself, and ended up checking out the rest of Zaramama’s frequent haunts. Now, I have the eyes of a panda and a serious lack of time (and urgency) to get any decent work done in front of the PC.

Then there’s the news of No. 2. Thank you all (registered and unregistered bloggers) who have offered the customary congrats. I take no credit apart from being the productive other half!

My youngest brother asked me the other day whether No. 2 (oh yeah, wifey and I had our name voting conducted last night. Results I’ll let her publish. Don’t want to steal her thunder) was “planned”. Huh? Not too sure what he meant but I told him it was planned. Perhaps one day when he gets married, he might realise that getting pregnant is not as easy as one would think and that “planning” for a baby only goes as far as whether to have one or not.

So, although Brae and No. 2 are 2005 and 2007, they are actually 1 year 3 months apart. Quite close eh? Well, Brae came about after 4 months of physical exhaustion so we gave ourselves some allowance (+ a couple more months because wifey was nursing).

Sorry, back to topic. Apart from the usual education worry, financial worry, we now have a new issue to grapple with….

How to fit 2 of us + 2 babies + 2 strollers + the occasional parent in a car?

I think I have a strong case to present to the home minister requesting for approval for a transport upgrade.

MPV? Stationwagon? School bus (kinda strong hint to wifey, methinks! :))

Another issue:

Can we both deal with 2 babies without help from our human-resource provider located just off Singapore? Should I boycott their “products” because of the haze?

How many here have domestic help? How many don’t? Wifey has domestic help in the form of ME. Though I only clean the house once in a purple moon, I do wash the cars, front porch on a weekly basis. I also clean the bathrooms every fortnight and mow the jungle lawn every month. Most importantly, I do it for free and without stealing mum’s diamond tiara hidden in the kitchen drawer.

While I continue to ponder, I shall request Linpeh to bring in more family-oriented OLIN products. Stuff that I can ACTUALLY use.

Entry filed under: babykhong, Daddy's Corner, General.

I’m pregnant…again! Why amnio?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zara's mama  |  Wednesday, August 23, 2006 9:15 pm at 9:15 pm

    Pst.. I’m not Nation no. 1 blog visitor. Really.

    Reply
  • 2. zara's mama  |  Wednesday, August 23, 2006 9:19 pm at 9:19 pm

    Pst.. I’m not Nation no. 1 blog visitor. Really. And I’m not a prolifict blogger either. I only blog 4 to 5 posts a week.. Lots of people post more than I do.

    We’re also wondering about vehicle portion.. 2 kids + 2 adults and sometimes the maid or parents come with us.. how are we going to accomodate. Time to upgrade a new car? Gosh.. really don’t like the idea of having to do loan repayment all over again..

    Reply
  • 3. shoppingmum  |  Wednesday, August 23, 2006 10:57 pm at 10:57 pm

    About car, we didn’t change after no 2 comes along. We only bring one stroller, and it’s for the toddler as he’s very heavy to be carried around. We carry baby everywhere.
    But with 2 car seats, one in front for toddler and one at the back for baby, it’s rather cramped. So, maid’s not coming along with us.
    As for education, I won’t force my kids as I’m in this line. I’ve heard lots of kids telling me they have no idea what they’re doing in school and what’s the homework is for.
    So, I think I’ll save up money for tertiary education rather than spending so much now. Early childhood education is still best started at home.

    Reply
  • 4. vivienlai  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 5:46 am at 5:46 am

    I guess I have it easier than most of you in Msia. Cars are cheap here. To get a 2nd hand, you need not pay thru your nose. We got our Toyota Sequoia (7-seater) couple of weeks before I pop her out. I refuse to own a minivan, so, SUV has to be the vehicle of choice.

    If we have a 2nd one, we still can fit 2 babies, 6 adults (3rd row will be very cramp) & 2 strollers. Hopefully, by then, we will be able to use the regular umbrella stroller for Belle and the 2nd one will have her big-arse BabyTrend stroller.

    As for help, we hired a nanny for Belle and that’s a recent event. We were “forced” to hire a nanny due to my MIL’s hip replacement surgery. On top of nanny help, we have cleaning helpers who come bi-weekly to clean certain parts of the house. Thankfully, both hubby and myself are working. The 2nd salary sure makes a huge difference.

    All of these are done out of neccessity. I have to hand it to parents who do not get outside help. I’m just glad that we’re able to provide the needed care for Belle and get a little family time without worrying if the floor has been mopped, carpet has been vacummed, etc. Oh, one more thing, we do actually tend our own garden & care for our dog. 😛

    Reply
  • 5. mumsgather  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 8:36 am at 8:36 am

    Like shopping mum, we carry the younger in a sling or freehand wherever we go so there is no need for another stroller and we ditch the stroller as soon as they can walk. No maid. So its just daddy, mummy and two kids. No problems fitting into our 12 year old proton. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 6. jesslyn  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 3:15 pm at 3:15 pm

    No worry, 2 is easy to take care too…me gone thru liao. But i cannot imagine how to cope with 3 now! hehehe…congrat!

    Reply
  • 7. dragonmummy  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 3:50 pm at 3:50 pm

    when we found out about having no 2 , we were in the dillema too. 1 month before WH arrival, we upgraded our sedan to MPV. Problem solved. But we only carry one stroller at all time, and another one we use sarong sling (which I find it to be very useful)

    Many concerned friends and relatives also doubt if I can cope with 2 kids without help. Though I’m not supermom like many blogging mum I’ve known off, I’m proud to say I survived 5 months without a maid, but I do pity my man to have to share the workload after a stressful day at work. With a maid, it’s blissful that I can spent more time with hubby and the kids and less stress, so I can enjoy them with a light heart.

    Reply
  • 8. huisia  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 6:29 pm at 6:29 pm

    1 year 3 months apart is closed, i think you need somebody to help you out.

    Reply
  • 9. daddykhong  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 7:36 pm at 7:36 pm

    We are very fortunate that Brae has been a very good boy to date. He goes to sleep with us and does not wake up till we get up. Doesn’t require much effort to keep him contented. It is for this reason that we decided to have No. 2 sooner rather than later. Perhaps we are hoping that his “good boy” genes are still floating in our system and will rub off our little girl.

    With 2 car seats in the car (both at the rear) due to the front airbags, there is no space left for wifey. Our centre seat belt is a 2-point lap belt so the car seat cannot be secured there. There is no way for an adult to squeeze into the middle from the rear doors.

    And so the car hunt is on. We (rather I) expect to confirm by June next year. Fortunately, it is a rather good time to squeeze the dealers for a better price. Our shortlisted choices later.

    Reply
  • 10. michelle  |  Thursday, August 24, 2006 9:59 pm at 9:59 pm

    Don’t worry now, when time comes, u will have a solution.

    Reply
  • 11. jazzmint  |  Friday, August 25, 2006 5:17 am at 5:17 am

    really lots of things to think about huh…

    we upgraded our car when #2 came along :). But stroller wise, NIL. Faythe doesn’t sit in it, Vyktore too young just carry lor.

    we do have a maid though, to help up with the chores since both of us are working and she needs to take care of the kids with MIL’s supervision.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

