Cried, cried, cried….

Monday, September 25, 2006 5:52 pm at 5:52 pm 9 comments

Hubby went to Singapore for a business trip for two days last week. I thought it would be difficult for me to handle Brae alone at home since he’s an expert in crawling already. I wouldn’t have time to make myself a decent meal or even have a quick shower. Therefore, I decided to bring Brae to my aunty’s house in Ampang to stay for one night. My aunt is staying with my two cousins and they have 4 kids at home, Brae can have someone to play with and I can give myself a break.

I was a bit worried that Brae would cry in the car since it was my first time driving all the way from PJ to Ampang. Hubby kept on reminding me to ignore him if he cries and concentrate on my driving (daddykhong: which is extremely poor for Malaysian standards, more so when she has depended on me for transportation requirements since Brae was born).

On Tuesday, I began our journey at 2 pm after Brae’s lunch. I made sure that I had a pacifier to calm him down in case he ‘lau kai’ because he is famous of throwing things after he gets bored with them.

At first he was okay. By the time I reached the Motorola bridge, it was so jammed and Brae started to cry, “Uuaaaaa…., buuaaaaa…, aaaaa….”, stopped for a while and continued crying. As expected, he threw his pacifier away. When I gave him another one, he swung his hand and that pacifier dropped as well. *slapped head*. I tried switching the music to a high volume, talking to him, singing nursery rhymes and patting him but all failed to stop him from crying.

I gave up and let him cry while I continued to head towards Ampang as fast as I can. It was already 3 pm when I reached my aunty’s house. When I stopped the engine, my cousin tried to help me carry Brae, he was still crying loudly. Poor boy! They were so surprised that I let him cry all the way and asked me why didn’t I put the car seat in front so that I can entertain him (daddykhong: Yeah, and crash the car while doing it!).

The first day wasn’t going too well. Brae kept on clinging to me. He wouldn’t let anyone carry him. Even when my nieces played with him, he wanted to sit on my lap. He wouldn’t want to crawl on the floor either. That was the first time I felt he was so clingy to me or the dad. Fortunately, he didn’t have trouble sleeping at night, or else I would be heading home straight away.

The next day was much better. He crawled on the floor, smiled and laughed when the kids played with him, not fussy with the food cooked by my aunt and let other people carry him as long as I wasn’t in sight.

We made our way home at 4 pm. This time, I waited until he was a bit tired and sleepy so that he could sleep in the car. Luckily, the traffic at that time was better and he slept all the way home. Phewww…!

However, Brae started his crankiness again when we reached home. He kept wanting me to carry him and refused to sit on the highchair while I was fixing his dinner. I put him to sleep at 10 pm, earlier than his usual time and he slept the whole night through. I was very, very tired when hubby reached home at 12 am. We still managed to update each other on what we each did during our time apart before we fell asleep.

Now, I really have to think twice when I want to drive with Brae alone.

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong.

Brae & Pomelo Brae’s new bike

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shoppingmum  |  Monday, September 25, 2006 11:05 pm at 11:05 pm

    Oh boy, you reminded me that I’ve never driven my boy alone before he was one year old. You’re doing very good! So much better than me already.
    I was thinking of driving them both back to Penang to pick up hubby from the airport, for a surprise. But now, I’m in doubt…

    If I have the choice, I wouldn’t want to drive alone with the baby. Thank god, it’s over now. Hey, you should try that. Maybe your kids will behave very well. You never know if you don’t try.

    Reply
  • 2. Vien  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 3:58 am at 3:58 am

    Belle does that too whenever she’s alone in the car with me. There’s nothing we can do…just think of it this way, it’s for the sake of his safety.

    Yalor, nothing that we can do as long as we can arrive to the destination safely.

    Reply
  • 3. jazzmint  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 8:47 am at 8:47 am

    aiyoo poor boy…it’s ok lah, gotta train a few times then he’ll be OK. I think it’ll be good if he sits next to driver seat, at least u can have visibility mah.
    I have no prob with Faythe even she sits at the back. but Vyktore likes ppl to keep on talking to him aiyoo…

    Not sure whether I should try again. Lucky you that your kids don’t cry.

    Reply
  • 4. zara's mama  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 11:46 am at 11:46 am

    Sometimes I too let Zara cry if I was driving when she was younger.. what can I do.. right?
    Btw, you took leave or you are actually a SAHM?

    I’m not working. I am a full SAHM. I follow hubby to his office twice a week to do my blog and surfing.

    Reply
  • 5. mom2ashley  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 5:15 pm at 5:15 pm

    hmm this sounds too familiar..happens to me and ashley as well!

    It’s first time for me though

    Reply
  • 6. Immomsdaughter  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 5:17 pm at 5:17 pm

    Phew! Lucky you are one tough cookie to let him cry until you reach your destination. I drive my girl alone to & fro babysitter everyday but it’s very nearlah and she can even throw challenges at such a short time 😛

    No choice mah. Either concentrate on my driving or end up crashing… 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. huisia  |  Tuesday, September 26, 2006 6:29 pm at 6:29 pm

    Your MIL didn’t make noise when you choose to stay in your aunty’s home rather than her house?

    She will never make noise. She couldn’t help much either.

    Reply
  • 8. nadia  |  Wednesday, September 27, 2006 11:26 am at 11:26 am

    I guess you have to get Brae used to being in the car seat. Irfan has been sitting in his car seat since he was about 2 months plus. And I’ve been driving him around a lot too, i.e: the hospital, office, mil’s place, shopping complex, etc etc. He’s been good so far, sometimes he’d get upset when we’re stuck in traffic, but most of the time, he doesn’t seem to mind. Maybe next time when the 3 of you go out, try putting him in the car seat as often as you can. Good luck! =)

    Reply
  • 9. daddykhong  |  Wednesday, September 27, 2006 5:53 pm at 5:53 pm

    He’s always in the car seat when he’s in the car. No exceptions unless he’s being fed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,479 hits

