Mooncake Festival @ Mummy’s hometown

Tuesday, October 10, 2006 10:16 am at 10:16 am 8 comments

Lanterns

Butterfly lantern for Mummy, Big fish for Daddy & Small fish for Brae

Since this year is Brae’s first year celebrating the Mooncake Festival, we thought of buying a lantern for him. We bought him the traditional lantern instead of the common battery-operated ones. So traditional that daddy insisted that we get Brae a fish because daddy always had fish lanterns when he was much, much younger! To our surprise, the two lanterns cost us RM9.60. So expensive!!! The big fish was given by Brae’s Ma Ma (paternal grandmother).

Mooncake Festival

Mooncake Festival at Mummy’s hometown in Perak (that little kid there is Brae’s uncle)

We went back to my hometown in Perak to celebrate. I haven’t been back home for a few months and I thought that it was a good time to go back and at the same time, annouce the impending arrival of No. 2 (Ha..ha..I’m in my 6th month and I only let them know now!) We also wanted Brae to experience Mooncake Festival in a small town which should be more ‘yit lau’.

We started our journey back to hometown at 6 pm after hubby got off work. We arrived at our house at 8 pm. Fortunately, Brae was sleeping the whole trip. He was a bit blur when we got there. He didn’t cry or make a fuss when my family carried him. Pheww…! He seemed to enjoy himself when he saw so many kids around holding their assortment of lanterns, together with the candles surrounding the house.

At 10 pm, we headed to my grandparents’ house (Brae’s Tai-Poh & Tai-Gung) where we had another round of stuff-me-till-I-go-silly mooncake sampling. By the time we got back to my house, it was almost 12 am. The weather was so hot and we didn’t open the windows because of the haze. Brae was sweating and kept on rolling around and sitting down. At least he wasn’t crying.

We went back to KL the next day after we had lunch with my family. We had to rush home because hubby had a friend’s birthday party at 7 pm. In two days, Brae had gone to different houses for celebrations.

DaddyMummy

Daddy & Mummy with Brae (excuse our lack of make-up. We had to blend into the kampung lifestyle)

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong.

Brae: Sitting down from crawling position Daddy is guilty!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vien  |  Tuesday, October 10, 2006 1:25 pm at 1:25 pm

    Ah, I can tell Brae got a lot of his good looks from you! 🙂 I would’ve opted for the traditional tang lungs too. I had never like those annoying battery operated ones.

    Next time must take pic of your growing belly..hehe

    Thank you, thank you *blush*. Hmm..come to think of it, I don’t have a pic of my belly worr. Must take one soon. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. shoppingmum  |  Tuesday, October 10, 2006 1:27 pm at 1:27 pm

    I wonder which part of Perak? 🙂
    My boy has the same fish as Brae!

    My hometown is in Tapah, Perak. Not that far from Ipoh. It’s good that they have the same liking for fish! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Immomsdaughter  |  Tuesday, October 10, 2006 4:48 pm at 4:48 pm

    Tang lung festival celebrated the old fashion kampung way, how delightful for Brae.

    We wanted him to experience kampung style celebration. He enjoyed himself so much!

    Reply
  • 4. jazzmint  |  Wednesday, October 11, 2006 5:55 am at 5:55 am

    nice to travel home for mooncake fest :). I personally prefers the traditional ones than the batt ones, they are so annoying lerr

    hey I got faythe a butterfly one too and also a nemo

    Ya, small town is better for Mooncake Festival, more kids, more lanterns, more candles, more lively. I hate the music from batt ones, very loud and annoying. Hmm..I think most kids like fish hor.

    Reply
  • 5. nadia  |  Wednesday, October 11, 2006 10:11 am at 10:11 am

    Yes, he looks more like you than his daddy. Sorry ah daddykhong. 😉

    Brae has more of my genes…hehehe 😀

    Reply
  • 6. Julian  |  Wednesday, October 11, 2006 11:42 am at 11:42 am

    Small town in Perak? Taiping ah? My mum comes from Taiping. So nice to see lanterns with candles hanging around. Next time must do this for my daughter.

    Not Taiping but Tapah. So did you go back to Taiping?

    Reply
  • 7. zara's mama  |  Wednesday, October 11, 2006 5:07 pm at 5:07 pm

    RM9.60 for 2 lanterns still say expensive ah?? I bought one for Zara, a small rabbit already RM7.50.. 😦

    Brae enjoyed himself?

    Reply
  • 8. babykhong  |  Friday, October 13, 2006 3:59 pm at 3:59 pm

    Zara’s mama,
    Long time didn’t buy lanterns, didn’t know the price. Ya, Brae enjoyed himself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,487 hits

