Bad news & Good news

Tuesday, November 21, 2006 8:51 pm at 8:51 pm 9 comments

Bad news

All this while, I’ve been using WordPress to upload the photos for all my posts. I always thought 50 MB of storage space for the photos was enough for me. Unfortunately, I recently received a message “You have exceeded the limit….” when I tried to upload a photo for my post. Darn!!! Now I’ve fully utilised the storage space given. What should I do? I have a Flickr account but everytime I try to upload photos, it will pop up a message “Document contains no data“! Not only that, I receive the same message when I try to upload videos to my Google Video. I HATE that stupid message!!! 😡

I searched high and low for a solution using all sorts of search engines. They talked about security lah, blocked by cookies lah, firewall lah and blah blah blah. Therefore, I tried to disabled Zone Alarm and Avast but to no avail. I even deleted all the cookies on my PC. I also tried uploading on other computers. All failed! So frustrated!My other option is to get my own domain name for my blog so that I don’t have to depend on third parties for the storage of the photos. Furthermore, I have full control over what I want to put on my blog. The only problem is I have to pay for it and the main concern is the transfer of data and photos. Basically, I have to do the housekeeping all over again. I just migrated from Blogspot to WordPress. I really don’t have the time to do it. Spending just a couple of hours in hubby’s office and not to mention having to keep an eye on our lil’ champion isn’t enough for me to do the migration.

Now I have to delay my 2 backdated posts…..

Good news

Since hubby is so anti-Telekom, I just have to wait for an alternative internet line for our house. Finally, my dream came true when hubby found out that Maxis Wireless Broadband was available at our housing area. Hoorraay!!! Hubby quickly went to sign up for the line. They came to install the line yesterday.

The first thing I did was to test the photo uploading. This time, I tried to upload through Flickr and it worked! No more stupid message and it was fast! I was so happy that it wasn’t the laptop system configuration or software problems. Hmmm…perhaps it’s the Streamyx problem at hubby’s office. (daddykhong: Streamyx having problems everywhere lah!)

Now, I can surf net and read all the updated blogs at home. The most important thing is that I won’t have that stupid message again, I hope.

I better finish off my 2 backdated posts…. 😀

Entry filed under: babykhong, General.

Brae: 12 months old Genting trip

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nadia  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 10:13 am at 10:13 am

    Yay!!!!! Am waiting patiently for the 2 backdated posts… =)

    Coming soon… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. mumsgather  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 12:05 pm at 12:05 pm

    If you’re thinking of moving to your domain but worried about the work involved what you can do is start anew from the new domain instead of migrating everything over. You can leave this one here and put a link from the new blog to this. Something like that should save you some work, I think. Thats what I’m considering doing too.

    That’s a good idea. I will consider that.

    Reply
  • 3. Sasha  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 1:11 pm at 1:11 pm

    eh i also want the mxis internet thinggy..but i dun have pc at home .. sianzzzz

    Haha…at the moment I also don’t have pc at home leh. Have to use hubby’s laptop.

    Reply
  • 4. zara's mama  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 3:30 pm at 3:30 pm

    I think you nvr resize your photos before posting on the blog.
    It takes very very long to load the photos..
    I guess that’s why you use up the allocated space so soon.

    Hmmm…thanks for the comment. Will resize the photos when I upload. Funny thing is, I can upload through WP now without the msg…so weird.

    Reply
  • 5. Immomsdaughter  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 4:09 pm at 4:09 pm

    Yay for you, getting rid of Terrorkom. Now can quick quick post 🙂

    Hate Terrorkom! Wait for my posts ya 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. huisia  |  Wednesday, November 22, 2006 4:30 pm at 4:30 pm

    I like Flickr, fast and the most important is China can’t block it..haha…
    Normally, i used photoshop to resize my photo before uploading to my blog.

    Now I start to use Flickr and resize the photo before uploading.

    Reply
  • 7. Julian  |  Thursday, November 23, 2006 10:36 am at 10:36 am

    I didnt know wordpress has a 50mb limit. Thank goodness I migrated mine to my own domain which I have huge storage space. With the pace I’m taking photos, it wont be long before I used up wordpress 50mb.
    Actually there are simpler ways to migrate from wordpress to own domain/hosting. There are tools which u can automate this. But yes, setting up own blog in own hosting is quite time consuming, but then again, it gives you full control what you want to do with your blog and how you want to protect it.

    I just knew about it when I searched for the solutions. Next time when I want to migrate to my own domain, I will ask for your help ya.

    Reply
  • 8. Annie Q  |  Thursday, November 23, 2006 1:55 pm at 1:55 pm

    wow..can load more picture for us to see and more blogs for us to read lo.. 😉

    Hopefully no more problems with the stupid message again.

    Reply
  • 9. jazzmint  |  Saturday, November 25, 2006 7:52 pm at 7:52 pm

    oo..I’m maxis supporter also..just love it to bits. They are super efficient as well…u call them in the morning, noon lai liao kekeke…i’m on wired maxis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,633 hits

