The difference between professional and 1/2-past-six management

Friday, March 30, 2007 5:15 pm at 5:15 pm 8 comments

Regulars may have read my earlier post on the “no dad ruling” in The Curve‘s baby room. Well, someone else is obviously as peeved as myself over such a short-sighted policy. Upon reading her letter in The Star, I decided to write in as well. My letter to the editor here.

My original letter was not as polite as the sanitised published version. It basically slammed the really, shall I dare say, stupid decision to  ban men from the baby room, ESPECIALLY when their immediate neighbour, Ikano Power Centre, is setting the standards in baby rooms for all other Malaysian malls to follow. If The Curve was located on Petaling Steet, ok fine, but their short-sightedness is made more glaringly obvious by Ikano next door.

On the same day my letter was published, the Operations Manager of Ikano called me to ask for my feedback on whether they should have a separate area in their mall for breastfeeding mothers. Now that is what I call “impressive and professional customer service”. Must have gotten my details from the Yellow Pages.

The next day, the Centre Manager of The Curve wrote a letter to me (must  be the Yellow Pages again!) stating the following key points:

  1. That I should have written directly to them instead of the newspapers because our company has business dealings with them. They are disappointed that I did not inform them first.
  2. Letter was also copied for the attention of the Head of Leasing (of which I thought was pointless)

I wrote back informing the Centre Manager that my letter to The Star was a personal letter and as such, it did not concern my company (if boss finds out then kena sack). I saw no need to have to copy the Leasing Head unless they wanted to blacklist my company. I also informed them that I DID IN FACT write to them via their website but they did not acknowledge or reply my feedback.

The Centre Manager replied saying that they have checked all their website emails in 2006 and 2007 and there were none from me but he/she still believes that I did send it but it somehow did not reach them. You know what I should do after this…send another feedback email to test them. Maybe everyone should visit The Curve’s website and send them feedback. I guarantee it doesn’t work.

Blardy hell, here I am spending time and previous effort to provide FOC feedback on their facilities and they get so defensive. On the other hand, their pro-active neighbour takes initiative to commence the construction of a dedicated breastfeeding room. That is the difference between the professionals and the not-so-professionals.

Entry filed under: babykhong, Daddy's Corner, General.

I love cold drinks Wow! Maids are a real big help….Pt 2

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zara's mama  |  Friday, March 30, 2007 9:28 pm at 9:28 pm

    And I thought they were run by similar management.. Obviously not..

    Yeah.. I find the Curve a bit baby unfriendly. I previously wrote a post about their diaper changing room.

    Obviously not much have been done.

    Reply
  • 2. sue  |  Friday, March 30, 2007 11:54 pm at 11:54 pm

    Actually, there is still a large number of shopping complexes that do not have proper breastfeeding and/or baby room… I was at KLCC for the gathering the other day when Izac was fussing and needed his milk fix. Rushed around, looking for baby room signs. Finally saw one and rushed in (those lift/ fire escape areas), guess what I saw… at the entrance of the ladies toilet was a teeny weeny place for changing baby’s diaper! NOt even a chair, and everyone was lining up blockng that area… *sigh*
    Suria KLCC set up a baby room on the Concourse Level about 6 months back. It is located behind Tower Records and is a huge facility. A pity that it is the only one in the entire mall. Their previous baby changing facilities were very poor and we usually visit Isetan’s baby room to change nappies.

    Reply
  • 3. Irene  |  Saturday, March 31, 2007 3:00 am at 3:00 am

    Kudos to daddy for being such a passionate father. It’s easy to take things for granted here on my end. All our big malls even swimming pools have family room – so mom and dad can help each other.

    As for breastfeeding, most of the mommies will just find a comfortable spot in the food court — some have couches (but a lot of the teens like to hog it!) and breastfeed there. I use a nursing canopy for my comfort. 🙂 I’ve even bf in Church with my canopy. Hahaha

    Reply
  • 4. WS  |  Saturday, March 31, 2007 11:51 am at 11:51 am

    Same thing in Penang as well, daddy is not allow in the Baby Room 😦
    Which mall is this? Need to list it in my book.

    Reply
  • 5. KGC  |  Saturday, March 31, 2007 11:22 pm at 11:22 pm

    Bringing your company’s name into the picture by the Curve management seems like a threat to me. This is one of those classic example to show the kind of mentality we have here in Malaysia.
    IAt least you have Baby Room there, it is much worse in Penang…..
    Yes, I consider it as a threat but they say it isn’t. If you read the recent article in The Star about See Hoy Chan Group protesting about how they are bullied by Boustead Group over the Bandar Utama link to Persiaran Surian, it all makes sense. GLCs love to bully people.

    Reply
  • 6. jazzmint  |  Saturday, March 31, 2007 11:53 pm at 11:53 pm

    wahh still wanna fight with u somemore…teruk

    Reply
  • 7. Angeleyes  |  Monday, April 2, 2007 12:54 am at 12:54 am

    aiyer… why they so ‘bu-kan-yuan’ like that? It’s true mah being a new establishment, they should have made all the studies needed to construct a babyroom and why didn’t they think far and just do one blindly right? I was baffled the 1st time I was there (though I was so happy to see one nice babyroom) and they actually told my dad to go out (my dad was helping me to distract Darrius)… and to realise that they stationed a guard table just opposite! Chi-sin people!

    Reply
  • 8. nadia  |  Tuesday, April 3, 2007 9:47 am at 9:47 am

    Gawd! Pathetic lah these people. Most times, I’d usually use Ikea’s or Ikano’s nappy changing room. It’s roomier and the fathers are allowed in. Heck, even some of the grandpas accompany their grandchildren in there. What is so wrong with having a different room for the breasfeeding mothers? Ish! Dumbass!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,633 hits

