I love my banana leaf rice

Friday, April 6, 2007 6:39 am at 6:39 am 15 comments

Hey look! I get my own leaf! And a whole piece of pappadam.

My daddy likes his food. He fancies all types but if you ask me what is his favourite, it will have to be banana leaf rice. He usually goes to Kanna in Section 17 for his….er…..almost fortnightly dose of heaven. He calls it “one step closer to the grave” but I don’t know what that means!

Since I was born I’ve always wanted to try some of what daddy and mummy are having. At McDonald’s – it’s the nuggets, at Kanna, the pappadam (sorry, I don’t know if it is single or double “p”). Only lately (since I was a year old), mum would give me small, stingy pieces of pappadam. So small, I can hardly taste the flavour. Pointless really!

Our most recent visit to Kanna was different though. The staff there (who all know me well – thanks to dad’s frequent visits) decided to give me my own leaf AND an entire piece of pappadam straight from the tin. Wow! I have been upgraded to 1st class. I thought I heard dad mumble, “They better not be charging for this fella” but hey…..who cares?

I hope my 1st class treatment continues.  Now where’s that curry?

Entry filed under: About Braedyn, babykhong, Food.

Songs? I’m weird???

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vien  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 7:32 am at 7:32 am

    Haha..is that rice on the banana leaf? Very kecik la! I can’t wait to bring Belle back for roti canai.
    Yup that’s rice. Just a wee bit for fun.

    Reply
  • 2. huisia  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 7:49 am at 7:49 am

    The rice enough for him arr??? LOL!
    He already had dinner but if not, it won’t be enough.

    Reply
  • 3. sue  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 12:58 pm at 12:58 pm

    I love Kanna Curry House too 🙂 And I’ve only been there once. Meanning to go there again…

    Reply
  • 4. sue  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 12:58 pm at 12:58 pm

    Err… btw, did they charge him?
    No they didn’t.

    Reply
  • 5. msau  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 12:59 pm at 12:59 pm

    haha..yeap yeap..will it too little for a boy? eee..what he holding ahh? budger ah? look enough with tat liao..

    Reply
  • 6. nadia  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 1:43 pm at 1:43 pm

    Kanna curry house is awesome!!! Now you’re making me mengidamlah.. lol!

    Brae looks so cute! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. mom2ashley  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 2:30 pm at 2:30 pm

    LOL! this post is funny…

    Reply
  • 8. Mommy to Chumsy  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 6:02 pm at 6:02 pm

    hahaha…he’s so cute with the papadam.

    Reply
  • 9. Sasha  |  Friday, April 6, 2007 11:04 pm at 11:04 pm

    ooooooooooooo i love banana leaf rice…and kanna very the expensive!

    Reply
  • 10. Malaika's mummy  |  Sunday, April 8, 2007 12:15 am at 12:15 am

    I introduced papadam to Malaika just last week, only a few small pieces for trial.

    Nice shot!

    Eh,,, can tell me the full address of Kanna curry house? My hubs like banana leaves very very much. Thanks.
    Don’t know the address but it is on top of the hill opposite Nanking Vegetarian Restaurant and Green View Restaurant in Section 19 (some people refer to that area as SS2). They also have branches at Jalan Gasing (same row as the chicken rice) and Kepong (opposite Desa Park City).

    Reply
  • 11. WS  |  Sunday, April 8, 2007 12:29 am at 12:29 am

    haha…it’s FUN reading this post!! I like the ” 1 step closer to the grave”….well, i found another kaki who would say ” makan dulu, belakang kira”…LOL

    Reply
  • 12. Angeleyes  |  Sunday, April 8, 2007 4:08 pm at 4:08 pm

    That is a huge piece of banana leaf!
    Better not take the curry boy or else you are sure to follow daddy to judgement day! 😛

    The papadum…. one piece won’t kill… so party on eh!

    Reply
  • 13. Babybooner  |  Sunday, April 8, 2007 9:16 pm at 9:16 pm

    OOoooooooOhHhh!! Sooo cute!!!!!
    Ermm, and did they actually charge you for that or not eh..?

    Reply
  • 14. zara's mama  |  Monday, April 9, 2007 5:36 pm at 5:36 pm

    Yummy Yummy! I should bring Zara too.. never thought of it. It’ll be a novalty for her. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
  • 15. Francis  |  Wednesday, May 30, 2007 2:33 pm at 2:33 pm

    You gotta try Vinni Jeyaa Banana Leaf Curry House if you want to know about Banana Leaf Cuisine. Fully Air-conditioned, piped music and excellent food and service. Its one step closer to heaven, really! Its located infront of Pasar Seni LRT station, besides Gayathri Emporuim and behind Mariamman temple in KL. Enjoy!!!
    Will do. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 55,633 hits

